Make your own free website on
ZAPREŠIĆ - from castle to castle

The 64 settlements of the Zaprešić region, with a population of about 46,000, cover an area of 252 square meters north-west of Zagreb. One of the north-western "gateways" of Zagreb County, it is well-connected with Europe by roads and railway links. The major centres in the region are Zaprešić, Brdovec, Bistra, Jakovlje, Pušća, Marija Gorica, Dubravica and Luka. The most interesting stories told by the hilly landscape are those of its six castles. One story is related to the Count Josip Jelačić (1801-1859), known as the Croatian ban (governor) who abolished serfdom in Croatia in 1848.
Novi Dvori Jelačićevi is an estate located along the road to the Hrvatsko Zagorje region. The buildings were constructed in the early baroque style and represents a unique example of a preserved estate complex which consists of the manor, a small court-chapel, farm buildings and a threshing floor and a three-storey granary as well as the family vault. In the immediate vicinity of Zaprešić, there is the early eighteenth century castle of Lužnica, a one-storey baroque building resembling Novi Dvori Jelačićevi. Some 6 km to the west of Zaprešić, is where the most beautiful Croatian classicist castle from 1830, Januševac, is located. Only a kilometre from Zaprešić, on the way to the Sutla River there is the one-storey castle of Laduč from 1881, the property of Baron Vladimir Vraniczany, with a French-style garden. The fifth castle on Zaprešić's road of castles is the one in Jakovlje. It is surrounded by a park with an open-air exhibition of sculptures. In 1773, the castle of the Oršić family was built in Gornja Bistra, with an old alley, court-chapel and the remnants of a large park in the Louis XIV style.

Plan grada

Dugo Selo    Ivanić-Grad    Jastrebarsko    Samobor   Sveti Ivan Zelina   Velika Gorica    Vrbovec   Zaprešić